

Biophysical Journal Selects Poster Award Winners at Single-Cell Biophysics Thematic Meeting

Contact: Ellen R. Weiss

eweiss@biophysics.org

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

June 23, 2017

Rockville, MD—The Biophysical Society is pleased to announce winners of the *Biophysical Journal* Outstanding Poster Awards given at the "Single-Cell Biophysics: Measurement, Modulation, and Modeling," meeting held June 17-20 in Taipei, Taiwan. The purpose of the Society's thematic meetings is to bring together researchers from diverse disciplines to discuss important biophysical topics that do not normally attend the same events. The poster winners were selected by a committee made up of top researchers including organizers of the meeting and editors of *Biophysical Journal*.

The student winners and their poster titles are:

Ivan Alex Lazarte, Academia Sinica, Taipei, Taiwan.

Quantifying Tight Junction Morphology of MDCK Epithelial Cells and Its Implications in Cell-Cell Interactions; and

Felix Wong, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA

Shape Recovery through Mechanical Strain-Sending in Escherichia coli.

The postdoctoral fellow winners and their posters titles are:

Wan-Chen Huang, Academia Sinica, Taipei, Taiwan

Dynamic Analysis of DNA and Topoisomerase II Interaction Based on Fluorescence Fluctuation and Single Molecule Detection

Daniel Jones, Uppsala University. Uppsala, Sweden

Kinetics of dCas9 Target Search in Escherichia coli

The winners were recognized at the close of the meeting and received a certificate recognizing their achievement and a monetary prize.

Biophysical Journal (BJ) is the leading international journal for original research in molecular, cellular, and systems biophysics. The journal publishes work in modern biophysics, which encompasses the study of biological structures with a focus on mechanisms at the molecular, cellular, and systems level using the concepts and methods of physics, chemistry, mathematics, engineering, and computational science.

The Biophysical Society, founded in 1958, is a professional, scientific Society established to encourage development and dissemination of knowledge in biophysics. The Society promotes growth in this expanding field through its annual meeting, monthly journal, and committee and outreach activities. Its members are located throughout the U.S. and the world, where they teach and conduct research in colleges, universities, laboratories, government agencies, and industry.

OFFICERS

President

Lukas Tamm University of Virginia

President-Elect

Angela Gronenborn University of Pittsburgh

Past-President

Suzanne Scarlata Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Secretary

Frances Separovic University of Melbourne

Treasurer

Paul Axelsen
University of Pennsylvania

Executive Officer

Rosalba Kampman Biophysical Society, Rockville

COLINCII

Zev Bryant Jane Clarke Bertrand Garcia-Moreno Teresa Giraldez Ruben Gonzalez, Jr. Ruth Heidelberger Robert Nakamoto Arthur Palmer

Gabriela Popescu Marina Ramirez-Alvarado

Erin Sheets Joanna Swain

BIOPHYSICAL JOURNAL

Editor-in-Chief Leslie Loew

COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Awards

Betsy Komives

Early Careers

Bert Tanner

Education

Gina MacDonald

Finance

Paul Axelsen

Inclusion and Diversity
Marina Ramirez-Alvarado

International Relations

Daumantas Matulis

Member Services

Frances Separovic

Membership

Juliette Lecomte

Nominating

Art Palmer

Professional Opportunities

for Women (CPOW)

Gabriela Popescu

Public Affairs

Edward Egelman

Publications

Olaf Anderson

Thematic Meetings

Richard Aldrich